Energy Efficiency Obligation Scheme: insights from Croatia

Croatia uses a combination of the Energy Efficiency Obligation Scheme (EEOS) and alternative measures to achieve the energy efficiency target.

EEOS was firstly introduced in Croatia in late 2014 with the adoption of the Energy Efficiency (EE) Act. The Act put the obligation to energy distributors/distribution system operators, while all implementing details related to the EEOS should have been regulated in a special by-law. However, the definition of ‘distributor’ was not clear enough, hence changes were initiated.

In late 2018, the amendments to the EE Act were adopted, obliging now energy suppliers to achieve energy savings in energy end-use. The Ordinance on EEOS was additionally adopted in April 2019, fully prescribing the functioning of the EEOS. Obliged Parties (OPs) are energy suppliers of electricity, natural gas, heat, and oil products. They enter the EEOS gradually, depending on their annual sales volume: in 2019 OPs are only those suppliers with annual sales volume higher than 300 GWh. This is extended in 2020 to suppliers with annual sales higher than 100 GWh, and from 2021 all suppliers with annual sales higher than 50 GWh will enter the EEOS.  There will be approximately 40 OPs, with one main electricity supplier (HEP) and one main oil supplier (INA), whose obligations would represent about 70 to 75% of the overall EEOS target.

More on the Croatian EEOS can be read in the Croatia_factsheet.


Was this content useful?

Subscribe to the ENSMOV Plus Newsletter!

* indicates required

By submitting this form we will include your e-mail in our mailing list to keep you updated about the ENSMOV Plus project and its results. To this end, the information you are providing will be stored and processed in accordance with the EU GDPR regulation.The ENSMOV Plus team is committed to protecting your information. We will maintain it strictly confidential, with information access limited to partners and individuals working directly on the project as well as the European Commission only for the purpose of providing this service.